Back To School DIY: Magnetic Board

School starts here for us on Monday.  Monday!!!  Ahhh!!!  So this week I’m in a final mad dash to make sure that I have everything organized and ready to go.

One thing I want to do differently this year is give the Princess a bit more say in how our school days go.  Last year, I had my list of things to accomplish on each day of the week.  For example, Tuesdays we did music.  Fridays we did art.  Every week, we had that same schedule.  At times last year it was a struggle to get her interested in whatever was next on the “to do” list, so it became a struggle at times to get everything done each day.  I want our days this year to be happier and go more smoothly.  One way to accomplish this, I think, is by letting the Princess have more say in the order of each day.

So I scoured the internet for ideas on how to go about accomplishing this goal, and I found the idea for magnetic to do boards.  (So this is totally not my own original idea, just my own version of someone else’s great idea!)  I thought, “Hey, this could work!”  She’ll get to choose what she wants to work on next, and she’ll also see how much we still need to finish before our day is over so I won’t have to frustrate her by telling her we have a lot more to do.  She’ll be able to see for herself.  And, when she finishes something, she’ll have the honor of moving it to the “All Done!” side of the board (it feels so great to cross something off your to do list, doesn’t it?!!!)

Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

Stuff you'll need to make this

Stuff you’ll need to make this

*A baking sheet, whatever size you like

*Spray paint, whatever color you like

*Clear glass gems (I got mine from the Dollar Tree)

*Paper

*Magnetic buttons

*****I forgot to include a hot glue gun in this picture, but I also used a hot glue gun…and a pencil…and scissors*****

*Mod Podge

*A paint brush

*Decorations, whatever you like.  (We decorated ours with stickers and paper.)

Now to the fun part 🙂

  1.  In a well-ventilated area and following the directions on the can, spray the baking sheet with the spray paint.  I took mine outside and ended up giving it two coats of paint.
    Go from this, to this!

    Go from this, to this!

    2.  While the paint is drying, work on making your magnets.  I typed up a list of subjects and printed them out  on a white piece of printer paper, but you may just choose to handwrite them.  I didn’t know if I could write that small, lol.  Whatever works for you!  Just make sure you leave enough room between them to trace around and cut out.

3.  Using your glass beads as a guide, trace around each of the words and cut them out.

Make sure the size of your letters will fit!

Make sure the size of your letters will fit!

4.    Attach your paper circles to the glass beads using a thin coat of Mod Podge.

Mod Podge. A little goes a long way...

Mod Podge. A little goes a long way…

5.  Hot glue a magnet to the back of each glass bead.007           6.  After your paint has dried, decorate it however you like!  Here’s what we used on ours:

Scrapbook paper

Scrapbook paper…

Stickers

…and stickers

And that’s it!  Here’s what our looked like when we finished:

Extra butterflies at the top, courtesy of the Princess :)

Extra butterflies at the top, courtesy of the Princess 🙂

And here it is when we add the magnets:

With the magnets

With the magnets

Some people go the extra step and hot glue a ribbon on the back for hanging. I haven’t decided if we need to do that or not yet. We’ll see. But that’s it. Pretty simple, really!017

4 thoughts on “Back To School DIY: Magnetic Board

Leave a Reply

