Stitch Fix

My very first box from Stitch Fix!

My very first box from Stitch Fix!

I admit it.  I’ve been bitten by the monthly subscription box bug.

It all started a month or so ago.  I was minding my own business, lamenting over the fact that it’s so hard for petite-sized me to find non-grandmotherly looking clothing that actually fit, when I remembered something that had come across my facebook newsfeed many moons ago.  A lady in long-forgotten-which-one group I’m in mentioned that she was getting clothing in the mail every month from a company called Stitch Fix.  This eliminated so much of the hassle and strife of clothes shopping–I dropped everything and immediately checked it out.  But alas, at the time, petite clothing was not an offering.  Sigh.

Are you like me?  Do you hate shopping for clothes?  Finding my size is so difficult, and living in a rural area where I have to drive an hour to the nearest shopping mall doesn’t help foster my love for this necessary evil.  Add to that the obligatory trip(s) to the dungeon (aka dressing room) and a rambunctious 6 year old and you’ll soon get a clearer picture of why clothes shopping isn’t my cup of tea.

Oh well, what was the name of that company again?  Maybe I can find something else similar…So I did a quick Google search, probably for “mail me clothes in a box” or something like that.

And there it was.  Stitch Fix.  I quickly looked over the site.  To my surprise–and delight–petite sizes were now available!  !!!  (Maternity clothes are also available for anyone who may be in need of such a thing.)  For the next length of time I devoured the website to find out how it works, how much it costs, and what I needed to do in order to get this into my life.

How it works:

The first thing you do is fill out your Style Profile.  It doesn’t take long, maybe 10 minutes.  You give them your size and measurements, look through some pictures and tell them what you like and don’t like.  How do you like your clothing to fit?  Are you a mom?  How often do you dress for different types of occasions and how often would you like them to send you that particular type of clothing?  Are there any types of fabrics  you don’t want them to send?  It’s pretty thorough, and thorough is a good thing.  (They even give you an area for “Final Thoughts” so you can tell them anything else you think they may need to know to style you.)  Then you select the date you’d like to receive your “fix” (as they call it), and just wait excitedly (impatiently?  that’s what I did…) to receive your box in the mail.  Yes, it’s that easy! Your stylist will then hand select 5 items for you (could be clothing, accessories, shoes…) and you’ll receive them by the date of your choosing.

How much it costs:

Stitch Fix charges a $20 styling fee for the stylist to pick out and ship your clothes, so it’s basically a $20/month minimum.  But not to worry!  If you choose to purchase at least one of your five items, that $20 then goes towards your purchase.  Choose to purchase all five pieces and you not only get your $20 credit, but you’ll also receive a 25% discount on your entire order!

I should also note here that when you’re filling out your Style Profile that you can set your price points for each type of item as follows:

*The cheaper the better

* $50 – $100

*$100 – $150

*$150 – $200

*$200 +

So if you’re willing to spend more for a nice pair of jeans than you are for a top, no problem.  Just adjust your price point for that item and your stylist will keep that in mind when styling your fix 🙂 Shipping is free both ways!  Try things on, decide what you like, and return what you don’t in their pre-paid mailer.  (I think you have 3 days to do this.)  You’re only charged for the items you keep, but if you forget to tell them what you’re returning you’ll probably be charged for everything (so don’t forget!)  When you go back to their website to check out, be sure to leave feedback about what you liked and didn’t like for each item so that your next fix can be even better!

And that’s basically it!  I received my first box last month and was extremely happy with it 🙂  If I ever figure out how to add photos, I’d like to start sharing some pics with anyone who may happen to read this.  (edit. I’m trying to figure out the photo thing now, so if there is one, it was a successful attempt!)

Oh!  And a few other things.  On your Style Profile, you can link up your pinterest board, your twitter account, and your linkedin account so that your stylists can check them out and get a better sense of what you like and don’t like.  (They really do look at them!  I know because I asked for a specific item to match something on my pinterest board, and that’s what I received!)  Each box comes with a card that shows you ideas on how to style your new pieces. (Handy for those of us who are not the most fashion savvy…)  Also, you can choose how often you want to receive a box from Stitch Fix.  You’re not locked in to any set amount of times to buy or anything like that.  Just make sure to note it in the appropriate places when you sign up 🙂

The Goods!

The Goods!

More goodies!

More goodies!

Finally, can I just say that I love this subscription box???!!!  It has made me so happy to know that I don’t have to go shopping in crowded stores, just to be disappointed to not find anything that fits me or looks good, or to pay too much for something that I bring home and don’t like afterward.  Seriously, thinking about it makes me smile, lol.  It’s crazy.  But it does!  My first box, I loved every item, and everything fit perfectly.  Very happy customer here.

If this is the sort of thing you might be interested in, would you please consider using my referral code when you sign up?  It’s totally not necessary; I’m glad to have been able to share this great find with you!  But if you do, Stitch Fix will give me a $25 credit towards my next purchase, and you will receive your first fix (= a box of happiness) and everlasting gratitude from me.  I wish that I could’ve remembered the lady who first mentioned Stitch Fix to me, as I would definitely have loved to be able to use her referral code to tell her thank you for telling me about this great service.

My referral code:  https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/5504565

(And a BIG THANK YOU if you use it!)
xoxo

Leave a Reply

