Kindergarten Spanish: A Change in the Plan…

So I’m already making changes to my curriculum choices…and school hasn’t even *officially* started yet. (Although we did do our first Bible lesson from our new curriculum this morning! The princess seemed so excited and interested, so I figured why wait?)

Here’s what happened:

I was doing a bit more reading on http://www.amblesideonline.org . I was mainly interested in their reading list for year 0 (kindergarten), when I noticed that they offered some council on foreign language programs.

My daughter has expressed an interest in learning Spanish. I myself am fascinated by learning languages, although (sadly) English is the only language I speak fluently. So I was very excited to add a Spanish curriculum to our homeschool agenda! Maybe I’ll learn a thing or two, too, in the process!

I had purchased a complete boxed set of La Clase Divertida (The Fun Class) from ebay a few weeks ago and was excited when it finally arrived. The website says that it’s suitable for children from PK-8th grade. Looking at it, though, I wasn’t so sure. It seemed to me that for grade K I’d have to do a lot of tweaking. So when I saw the recommendations from Ambleside, I began to reconsider my choice.

After much deliberation, I decided to purchase the Spanish Teacher’s Kit from Little Pim. I had considered Little Pim when I was looking before, but didn’t realize they had a teacher’s kit and at the time I wasn’t so sure about spending so much $$$ on something that might not keep my daughter’s attention. My daughter seemed interested and enjoyed the sample video offered on the site, but I still wasn’t sure I wanted to spend so much on the Complete Set. The teacher’s kit is less expensive (although it doesn’t include the second set of dvd’s like the complete kit does) and I figure that if we don’t like it, we can always find something else. Plus, I found a coupon! That plus free shipping on orders over $20 and I just couldn’t pass it up, lol.

So here is the plan for now:

1) Work through the Little Pim curriculum. If we like it, when the time comes we can purchase volume 2. In the meantime, my daughter will be hearing Spanish and becoming familiar with basic vocabulary.

2) When we are finished with Little Pim, we will move to Georgia Public Broadcasting’s Salsa series online. I think she’ll enjoy it more if she can understand a bit of what they’re saying (which she hopefully will because of Little Pim!).

3) After we’ve worked through both of those programs, we’ll re-evaluate how ready she may be for La Clase Divertida. The cool thing is that I already have a curriculum for the future, and it really does look like it will be “The Fun Class”!

So that’s it for now. When I get a few more things cleaned up from our big weekend I’ll start working on getting a basic schedule created for school. It’ll be here before we know it and I wanna be ready!

Leave a Reply

